10g Planted - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 01:44 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

10g Planted

Hey guy's long time lurker and I felt like I needed to join.

I have a 10g with 2x13 watt 6500k CFL'S.

I would like to make it a nice planted tank but keep my budget $50 or less. What can I do to become successful at doing so? What plant's, light, fert, etc. do i need and how much and how long should i do stuff?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 02:08 AM
Planted Tank Nation

Welcome to TPT! As you have probably seen, its a great forum to be on

Unfortunately I have no experience with CFL's, but I assume this is going to be a low tech tank? What substrate are you using?
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 02:11 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Enthusiast

I'm open to suggestions, I'm going to redo the whole tank. I'm thinking eco complete to flora max.
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 02:21 AM
Algae Grower

Aulono,
You have quite a bit of light there. 50 years ago I got my first 5 gal and shortly after two 10 gal tanks. It was easy then, because we did not have bright lights. Algae was pretty rare, and never aggressive like it is in hi tech systems. If you really want that much light, you will probably need either CO2 or Flourish Excel or its equivalent. Assuming you have plants, you will need ferts to support your lights, or once again you will have an algae farm. You should be fine if you research these topics some.
Good luck,
Dave
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 02-04-2013, 02:39 AM
Planted Member

10g Planted