The Planted Tank Forum banner

New Power head with co2

7K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  SprManKalEl 
#1 ·
So, I've been running pressurized co2 for about 4 months now and have not seen any significant growth in plants. I decided to purchase a powered today rated a 160 gallons per hour. I have a 50 gallon tank. I think 3x circulation should be good. I am also going to focus on being more consistent with dry fertilizer dosing. I put Seachem fertilizer tabs in the gravel as well.

My question is, should I put the co2 hose on the output of the power head or should I put the glass diffuser under the intake and let it sick up the co2 bubbles?

Thanks in advance.

Sent from my VS990 using Tapatalk

#2 ·
Are you sure the hose input is on the outflow side and not the inflow side? The usual method here is to cut the propellers in half (bend each half slightly away from each other), and then feed the CO2 into the inflow side. The propellers chop it up and blast it out.

You can modify that method with a DIY reactor (like a plastic syringe or similar) and venturi loop that ensures almost 100% efficiency.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk

#4 · (Edited by Moderator)
It is on the outlet. I got this one.

http://m.petco.com/shop/en/petcostore/product/petco-160-gallon-power-head#

I'm not sure you need to be hacking up the impeller of your new powerhead. Then again, I'm not convinced you needed the powerhead. CO2 by itself is only part of the puzzle. So just adding CO2 (assuming decent diffusion) won't do much unless there's sufficient/abundant light and nutrients. Perhaps now that you've added CO2, you need to increase ferts, or light, or both some to get the growth your looking for. Also, it goes without saying that plants are only gonna grow so fast and some are downright slow no matter how good the conditions are.