The Planted Tank Forum banner

Speak up Nebraska

9K views 29 replies 21 participants last post by  fusedpro 
#1 ·
It's just been a long time since anyone had posted in the Nebraska section of these forums. Thought I'd drop a line and say Hi.

#7 ·
Another Nebraskan here. Started my first planted tank a little over a month ago. I've got a lot to learn, but it's been fun. Uploaded a profile today, check it out. Some plants growing like crazy, some not so much, LOL.

#14 ·
Hi from Omaha...Good to see some Nebraskans on here. I am new to the planted side of fishkeeping. Since you are from NE you will know what I mean when I say the water is hard and alkaline. This discouraged me from doing a planted tank at all. I want to set up a planted 20 gallon regular. Any advice for the beginner regarding lights and CO2? There is so much out there info wise and differing opinions and techniques. I need a Nebraska Planted Tank for Dummies tutor.

#15 ·
Don't be too discouraged by our hard, alkaline tap water, robinss. When I was using 100% tap water, my plants did fabulously. (Then I made the mistake of adding a water softener charged with KCl to my house... :( Tank hasn't been the same since.)

As for lights and CO2, you'll have to do some experimentation to find out what works best for you. I find a low-light, no CO2 approach is best for my tank. I'm currently using an old CoraLife 36" CF fixture over my tank, with a 10,000K bulb, but am considering switching over to LED lighting eventually.

#16 ·
thanks

Thanks Artemas...I read once that the plants couldn't take the hardness. I am thinking I might buy LED...but the lighting talk is too much for me...

I am surprised at how few LFS are mentioned here in Omaha. We used to have more. Big box stores must be pushing them out.

#18 · (Edited)
Thanks Artemas...I read once that the plants couldn't take the hardness.