The Planted Tank Forum banner

DIY Bio reactor (Cerges design)

3K views 9 replies 5 participants last post by  Ahlian 
#1 ·
Hey all,

I built a Cerges reactor for Co2 but ended up not using it for that purpose (at least for now) so I decided about 6 months ago to try and use it for a bio reactor.

I connected the reactor to the return line of my Fluval 206. Since I had a T plumbed into the reactor I added an air pump figuring this would dissolve more oxygen into the tank allowing a better growth of bacteria. This also had an unexpected side effect, the pressure from the air pump created a large pocket of air where the the water trickles through the scrubs I pulled apart, not unlike a wet/dry filter. There is also a some sponge and bio-media on the bottom.

I wanted to get the forums opinion if my thinking is correct on this. I'm new to this kind of thing, so I figured I'd ask the experts. Also, I have a concern if this is taxing my canisters pump. The flow seems to be just as good as it ever has been and I can't hear any extra noise from the pump.

I added some pics of it up and running. Excuse the filthiness of the reactor and my cabinet, both need to be cleaned :)

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·
Anyone have comments on this?

I'm thinking about gluing some screen or sponge over the water intake to disperse the incoming water more evenly over the scrubbies inside, giving a better wet/dry type of filtration. Also thinking of filling this with bio-balls instead of the scrubbies, since they would mostly be out of water.

#4 · (Edited)