The Planted Tank Forum banner

need to be learnt on dry ferts

1K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  picturebigger 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
ordered dry ferts this week (EI + Mg). arrives today (YAY). i'm a total newborn to dry. had no idea it existed til last week. i hate to ask something that has probably already been asked but i'm not finding anything yet as i search thru the forum. i see lots of threads on "which is better liquid/dry" or "how much of this or that" but i don't know anything about actual usage. how do you dose the tank with it? do i dissolve in a cup of tank water and introduce? do you drop it in the tank straight? bury it in substrate? no idea.

looking for some reading material to learn up on it. any good links or direct replies with tips / tricks / lessons learned / etc. greatly appreciated.

p.s: my wife wants me to ask you guys if she can use some of the magnesium in her outdoor plants. lol i run the aquascape she runs the landscape (flowers that is.. grass is mine, paws off) ;)

thanks!

sorry, that sounds vague like "can you just tell me what to do?".

i'm following the EI scale to get going and then later i'll zero in on what is too much or too little or missing altogether. great method for me to develop my benchmark. i understand my dosing amounts.

i'm really just unclear on how to use the stuff. lol such a basic question it's pathetic. but i'd rather ask than assume.

thanks

i'm such a moron. just ignore me. google.. imagine that.

i read now this basically lets you make the same fert mix you'd buy at a store minus paying for the water. copy that.

so my new question... can the daily dose be mixed with tank water daily and added or should i use bottles and pre-mix it and store, to introduce to tank daily already in liquid form?

i guess either will work but it's easier to have it stored?
what's the rules on storing it? refrigerate, expiration, will it mold/mildew/degrade in strength?