The Planted Tank Forum banner

Another Plant Problem Thread - S. Repens and Marsilea Crenata

2K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  sdwindansea 
#1 ·
I'm still very new to planted tanks. This is a non-C02 setup but I am dosing Excel every other day (5 ml). The tank is a 60 gallon tank that is 17" tall (48" long x 15" deep). I'm running a single Planted+ 24/7 on a custom setting (approximately 80% white/red) for 7 hours a day. The tank is about 45 days old now. When I setup the tank I added small amount of oscomote plus to the bottom of the tank before adding the Eco-complete (~3").

I am using tap water and I'm dosing 10 ml of macros/micros once per week. This is the nilocg DIY liquid solution (DIY EI Liquid Fertilizer| Premium Aquarium Fertilizer | NilocG Aquatics). The recommended EI dosing would be 5 ml per 20 gallons three times per week. I'm trying to be cautious and do not want to overdose.

I did measure nitrates and phosphates after my last major water change (~ 50%). The nitrates were 10 ppm and the phosphates were 0.5 ppm. I have not calibrated the API test kit yet though.

It seems like my Marsilea crenata and Staurogyne repens are both suffering and lacking in something. Based on the description/pictures do you think it is too much fertilizer dosing? Not enough? Should I be using root tabs yet? Thanks for any help you can give, it is great appreciated.

See less See more
#3 ·
Thanks @natemcnutty. The roots are still working their way down. Both plants were added to the tank about 2 weeks ago. I was assuming I was going easy on the light but that could be a bad assumption. Also I do not think it is burning since the repens has holes on a few of the lower leaves (I know it is hard to see in the bad picture I took).

#4 ·
Excellent. Here are a few thoughts :)