Troubleshooting plants and nutrient balance - The Planted Tank Forum

1Likes
  • 1 Post By OVT

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-16-2016, 11:38 PM Thread Starter

Troubleshooting plants and nutrient balance

Hello everyone!

I am new to The Planted Tank and I did not see any specific place to post asking for help on figuring out a planted tank so please excuse me if this is in the wrong place.

I've had my tank up an running over for a little over a year now and I have pretty much been struggling with my plants from day one and I can't figure out if I'm missing something, if my lighting is wrong, or what the deal is.

I'm going to start from May of this year when I decided to change my substrate from Eco Complete to Caribsea Tahitian Moon Sand. I bought a couple new plants (the Amazon swords and Jungle Val) to go with my new set up.

As of now I have Java Fern, Anubias, Echinodorus Vesuvius, Bacopa, Ludwigia Repens, Amazon Sword, and Jungle Val in my tank.

As you can see from the pictures the amazon sword has a lot of browning and transparency on it's leaves, the jungle val keeps turning brown at it's edges and I can't determine if it's from a deficiency or the Seachem Excel. My Vesuvius has suffered since I changed the substrate (It's not a vibrant as it once was and it's not growing anymore). There was even yellowing of a couple leaves on my anubias which never happened before. While most of my plants have stopped turning brown/transparent they are now doing nothing, they're not dying, they're not growing, they're not rooting, they're kind of just there. I did have an outbreak of brown algae so I did a Hydrogen Peroxide treatment (without the fish in the tank) and then did a 75% water change almost a week ago.

I have a 10 gallon divided tank.
The temperature of my tank is around 75F
The pH of my tank is 8.4
Ammonia is 0ppm
Nitrite is 0ppm
Nitrate is 10ppm