The Planted Tank Forum banner

Sakrete Multi-Purpose Sand

5K views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  Bananableps 
#1 ·
Hi! Noob here. My daughter came home with some guppies from VBS back in August. My husband dug out an old 10 gallon he had in the basement with a filter and such and we set her up a small tank. I haven't had fish since my early 20s and back then, my setup was gravel and plastic decor :/ The whole planted tank idea is new to me but I figured I'd get my feet wet with hers. So we stuck with some java fern and moss and because she loves the color turquoise, some tacky blue gravel :D It's doing fine but we had some losses for a while despite the water levels being spot on. I noticed they were always after I siphoned the gravel and did a PWC. It seems that no matter how careful I am with the siphoning, 7 yr old feeding fish + 10 Gallon = some pretty dirty gravel. I presume the siphoning was releasing some gas into the tank that was making the fish ill. I now remove the fish to siphon and do a PWC every other week and it's a royal PITA. I'm thinking of switching her substrate to sand. I have a bag of the Sakrete in my basement that I bought to grow garden cuttings. Was thinking of using that but it seems to have mixed reviews. I found one post in this forum that deals with it but it didn't really address my concerns. Though the reply did cover the fact that the sand migrates to the bottom leaving small gravel on top. Perfect for siphoning purposes :D If I have guppies and glow fish and a pleco in there, will components in the sand mess with the pH too much? I'm dealing with that in my large tank where I had to remove some Texas Holey Rock because the pH and hardness shot way up. I thought it might but the salesman assured me otherwise. I should have done my homework first. I don't want the same scenario with this tank after changing out the substrate. Would love to know if anyone has used it successfully and maintained a neutral to slightly alkaline