Black Diamond/Manure/Red Clay, STS Substrate? - The Planted Tank Forum

1Likes
  • 1 Post By Hoppy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 07-14-2016, 03:39 PM Thread Starter
Planted Member

Black Diamond/Manure/Red Clay, STS Substrate?

I've been reading up on substrates and CEC rates, and I'm considering mixing a custom blend and wanted to pass it by you planted tank gurus, since I have no practical experience with planted tanks. I sure would appreciate some input.

First of all, my primary goal is purely aesthetic, and for that purpose I choose to use the Black Diamond blasting sand (medium, 20/40 is what I've seen suggested, right?) for its ease of use, long-term neatness and appearance. Of course, it is inert, so root tabs must be used with it alone and seem to be a second choice option as far as growing plants is concerned. That is where the cow manure, red clay and Saf-T-Sorb come in, cow manure for the long-acting availability of nutrients in humus (<10% in the mix), red clay for the availability of usable iron content (~10%, is this right?), and Safe-T-Sorb for its high CEC and ability to stay together better than cat litter or similar products (% to be determined).

Of course, with the manure I will be expecting an initial ammonia spike when first submerged and plan to allow the nitrifying bacteria in a "seasoned" filter to catch up and let all ammonia, nitrite and nitrate levels settle down before adding plants (is this necessary for just plants?).

Also, I plan to run the system as low-tech with no added CO2, but with a lighting "rest period" during the middle of the day to allow CO2 levels to catch up. I have no problem dosing fertilizers regularly, especially since the CEC will pull them out of the water column initially.