The Planted Tank Forum banner

Duy's 10 Gallon NPT :)

5K views 23 replies 9 participants last post by  duy 
#1 · (Edited)
Current FTS:

3/15/13

Hello, I'm a new member here so I think ya'll deserve a little introduction. I'm a Sophomore college student at OSU, and I've always been a huge fan of the hobby. I think my dad is to blame for that. He taught me betta breeding when I was younger, and during my high school years I had two planted aquariums of my own. Sadly, they were abandoned once I moved away for college. It's been two years since then, and I've recently re-discovered my passion for planted aquaria and decided to start a small 10G tank.

Plan: Dry Start Method for ~ 1-2 month(s) then flood once root system is established.:icon_smil

Livestock: Clown killifish w/ RCS.
*My hope is that the clown killies will breed and the RCS won't eat the fertilized eggs:wink:. Can anyone confirm this to be possible for me?

Plants: Mostly undecided. But so far there's:
- C. Parva (or what I believe is it, was labeled
assorted asian crypts" at local petco.) :help: If possible can someone confirm?

-Ludwigia repens (Same situation with C. Parva, ID?)

-Java fern. I found a piece of hardened clay at the beach once, and when we had a bonfire we threw it into the embers; it baked the clay a nice deep red with awesome cracks and texture. It was awesome, so I attached it to the fern as a base.:icon_smil

\\Comments:
The tank has only been set-up today, and there is a massive shortage of plants. I'm waiting to find a nice sale package or better yet, a RAOK, from a member here because you all have such nice quality tanks and plants :biggrin:. If anyone has such a kind offer and hooks me up for some more plants at a budget, PM me and let's be friends! :red_mouth

Substrate:
Miracle Grow Organic capped with Petco black sand.

Lighting:
12 DIY LED kit from aquastyleonline.com (super fast shipping, suprised me).