The Planted Tank Forum banner

Tillandsia & their blooms (Tillariums)

75K views 187 replies 43 participants last post by  orchidlove 
#1 · (Edited)
PLEASE READ: If you would like me to re-post pictures to any photos that were deleted in the posts below, just let me know and I will re-post those photos. "Ditto" is used in 'reason for editing' box for photos deleted by photobucket. Photobucket really screwed up a lot of websites by eliminating 3rd party hosting. Still have plenty of photos to share, and will post if there is any interest.

A picture (thanks to Imgur) oftentimes reveals so much more than just words.
Photobucket says photo-f**k-it, starts off-site image shakedown - ?Code

I've been growing Tillandsia indoors for many years under artificial lighting enclosures (coined them with the word "Tillarium") to provide optimum growing conditions for these plants. Many of the species that I have been growing are 'decades' old. Some have been grown from seed, but most are offsets that continue to reproduce through the generations.

A few blooms from my Tillariums

Tillandsia ionantha 'rosita' lg. form (mother plant)

Tillandsia ionantha 'rosita' sm. form

Tillandsia ionantha 'ron' lg. form

Tillandsia ionantha 'ron' sm. form

Tillandsia ionantha 'zebrina'

See less See more
#5 · (Edited)
Took a few FTS of some set-ups... still toasted from daylight savings time combined with the Duke & Carolina game last night. The enclosures & aquariums that I use (I coined 'em' with the word tillarium: an enclosure for Tillandsia to provide controlled growing conditions) could be considered closed top somewhat. I have no glass covering the tops of most set-ups (some set-ups do have a closed top with an open front). Light fixtures pretty much enclose the tops (although air can enter through the small open gaps).

#4 · (Edited)
Amygirl11, Macrophyte ~ appreciate the kind words.