The Planted Tank Forum banner

New to the hobby & Fluval Spec 5 gal

30K views 21 replies 14 participants last post by  DRED805 
#1 ·
Hi everyone!

I'm very new to this hobby and I'm interested in starting my first planted tank ever. I have been researching and absorbing everything I can before I start. I wanted to start on a small scale - definitely low tech.

The tank I am interested in (planning to purchase this weekend) is the Fluval spec 5 gallon. I've read all the reviews about the tank I could find and I am getting a lot of conflicting information - especially about the 7500k LED light. Does anyone currently own the tank that could give me some feedback on their thoughts about the tank/light.

I wanted to do a run down of my plans and would greatly appreciate guidance with this project.

The substrate I will be using is the Fluval Stratum (the ones for shrimps).

Fauna (not sure if this is overkill for a 5 gallon but...) 2 cherry shrimps, a school of neon tetras or (male) guppies.

The hardscape will be driftwood (I'm currently soaking to get rid of some of the tannins) and zebra rocks.

Flora I am interested in (have not yet purchased) are low-light plants...java ferns, java moss, anubias. I was also interested in some floaters (I'm not sure what types yet -- recommendations welcome!). In addition, I was hoping to establish some type of carpet but I am worried that the light will not be sufficient since I read most carpets require high light levels.

With that size tank, I'm not sure if it's necessary to dose/fertilize...I am not interested in using CO2 supplementation. I have already bought the heater/thermometer, and water test kit. I do plan on doing a fishless cycle.

Very very new with all this but very excited to get into it. Thank you in advance for any input/advice :)

See less See more
#2 ·