The Planted Tank Forum banner

Any help appreciated!

1K views 14 replies 6 participants last post by  dukydaf 
#1 ·
Ok, what is it and how do I get rid of it!

70L tank
6 hour lighting period
2ml TNC Carbon daily and 7ml TNC Complete weekly

Anymore info. needed?

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

See less See more
#4 ·
How long has the tank been set up?
When did this particular algae start creeping in your tank and how long has it been going on? An estimated growth rate will help too, like if it popped up out of nowhere or slowly started growing.

What kind of lighting unit and the specs of the unit, if known.

What kind of filter and or circulation does the tank have?

Be specific as possible! Haha

I'm also not familiar with the ferts. You use, I'm assuming the one is a liquid carbon source and what does the other contain in it? Macros, micros?

Unfortunately I can't identify the algae, but I know it can be a Pain. I'm not good with identifying algae, there's so many different kinds, but no matter what it's called, i know it can be a pain especially if it's overrunning your tank. With more details, I can help trouble shoot and recommend ways to get rid of it and possibly keep it from coming back. EDIT: also what livestock does this tank possess?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#6 ·
Is it just in a couple of spots? If so, a short term solution is to try blasting it with a pipette of hydrogen peroxide, underwater. The stag horn should die and turn red in a day or two.

Do not soak the plants in hydrogen peroxide, like I tried to do recently...

Can we see pics of your whole tank? Might be useful to see how all of your plants are doing.

#7 ·
Yep staghorn...

Cut affected Vallisneria leaves. When you dose the TNC Carbo stop all filters /pumps. Put the Carbo in a syringe and slowly squirt over any other affected areas (such as the rock). After 5-15 minutes restart pumps. Do not try to brake it manually as it will only favour its spread.