Size:50 x 47.5mm(Dia x H)

4 of these 1 for back up

Specification:
Casing material: Aluminum
Number of bulbs(each): 6
Color of light: Pure White
Each LED bulb 1w
Input voltage: 12V

I just started my first dsm yesterday with one 10w stock halogen and a 18w cfl from an old tank Eco on a thin layer and activ-flora on top with API root-tap and misting daily with my 30l tank (dry ferts)

Last edited by daygoboiz; 06-11-2012 at 06:21 PM. Reason: More details
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #1637 of 2165 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 05:30 PM
Algae Grower

Hi all, I am new to this thread and have one of the original edge's that has been just sitting around. Was really unhappy with how hot the halogen lights got...

So I am ready to make some changes would like to just have some plants and shrimp for it, what would you recommend for substrate and mods for lighting; I have tried to read the whole thread but it seems like there is conflicting info...looking for any advice/suggestions

Thanks!

=^..^= Ellyn

Filstar Pimpette #101
post #1638 of 2165 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 06:27 PM
Algae Grower

I think most people upgraded to mr16 led with new sockets and zip tied it with a 10w cfl, I'm new to hope that helps
post #1639 of 2165 (permalink) Old 06-11-2012, 09:15 PM
Planted Tank Enthusiast

Quote:
Originally Posted by daygoboiz View Post
I think most people upgraded to mr16 led with new sockets and zip tied it with a 10w cfl, I'm new to hope that helps
Or you can just buy the MR11s or MR16s and forgo the compact florescent (which will also generate quite a bit of heat). That's what I did and I've been very happy with the results. Of course, this has also meant that I have been somewhat limited with my plant choices but understanding this from the start allowed me to plan accordingly and I have had great results

This gets me thinking....