The Planted Tank Forum banner

killi fish in nano tanks

2K views 9 replies 8 participants last post by  psalm18.2 
#1 ·
Can killi fish be kept in nano tanks without a filters?
It would have lots of plants for natural filtration and floating plants. circular tank dimensions approx 12" diameter and 12" tall

#2 ·
Hmm, I am not an expert but I heard that most Kllifish live their entire lives in the wild in puddles, so I would assume that is enough space for a couple. As for the filter questions I am not entirely sure, I currently have some baby shrimp living in a large glass bowl with no filter and they seem to be doing okay, but they are much tinier than your fish would be, but I would imagine with enough plants it would work. You just need to make sure you cycle it completely before you add any fish, since you will be relying on the bacteria to break down the ammonia from your fish.

#4 ·
I had a striatum pair in a 2.3 gallon tank with no filtration. Didn't notice any behavioral difference from them being in both a larger tank and a slightly smaller cube that had filtration.

Just make sure you are diligent about keeping the container covered. I lost both of mine on different instances due to jumping when I forgot to place the cover back on. The female was quite an accurate jumper. Twice she launched herself into a small container next to the tank where I had a daphnia culture (before I had a lid), the last time she jumped into a potted plant (also a small container). She didn't fair so well that time.

#5 ·