The Planted Tank Forum banner

My bowl attempt (NOW WITH INHABITANT) (THAT NOW LAID EGGS)

3K views 20 replies 11 participants last post by  Knotyoureality 
#1 · (Edited)
So I set this up a couple days ago with the thought of attempting to create a really small bowl that could house juvie shrimp or something interesting well I grow some moss in there. I also wanted to see how fast my moss would grow under minimal light.

Equipment:
none
Light:
Aqueon evolve light, swiveled over for about 4.5-5 hours a day
Substrate:
dirt layer capped with a bit of aquarium gravel
Flora:
Java moss
Fauna:
none yet

Rocks I was choosing from

Choosen rock and filled

After dirt settles

Thanks for looking, this is my first time trying to keep a journal so sorry for any of the mistakes that I've probably made in posting this.

See less See more
#9 ·
So I was planning on going to pick up a snail from a local store when I found one in my Aqueon Evolve. I knew one was in there but last I saw him/her he/she was the size of a pinhead and I paid no attention to him/her because I only saw him/her occasionally. Well now he/she looks to almost be the size of a dime. Once I get a good picture I'll post one of him/her.

#10 ·
My bowl attempt (Now With Inhabitant)

Aha here he/she is

So does anyone have any idea what kind of snail this is? I just kinda found it in my Evolve one day and forgot about it till the other day when I went to feed and saw it again only much larger.

#12 ·
pond/bladder--never can remember the difference between the two and everyone pretty much just calls 'em pond snails anyways.

Excellent test pilot for the new bowl--I generally scoop a couple of these for any of my planted vases. If they dont' crawl out after three days, you're generally good to add shrimp.