Nano lighting - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-02-2010, 06:58 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Nano lighting

Yeah who'd have thought another post on lighting?

Alright Ive got an 8 watt light T8 or T12 fixture that fits over my 2.5g quite nicely. Was told when I asked about it growth would be slow, limited species selection, etc. At first I was ok with this, but I can't shake the desire to tinker with it. I'm seriously considering CO2 and going more advanced. Ive done some bigger tanks (dutch style) before but since Ive moved I just don't have the time to put into a large set up right now. So the 2.5g will give me the fix I need.

I'm still waiting on a replacement heater and looking at aquascapes. I got thinking about upgrading the lighting also.

I found a 13 watt CF retrofit that would fit this fixture perfectly. I've never done a planted nano before and don't know if this is going to make a 2.5g algae farm or worthwhile.

Thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-02-2010, 07:54 PM
Planted Tank Guru

13 will be fine could even go a bit higher. Do a search there are alot of topics jsut like this one...

Rebooting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwill View Post
"C'mon, they're just plants, man, no big deal -- try some"
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-02-2010, 08:05 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Thanks for the fast reply. 13 watts just sounds like a lot for such a small tank thats what worried me.
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-02-2010, 08:06 PM
Planted Tank Guru

WPG rule doesn't apply to nano tanks... I had 27 over my 5g when it was going last year.

Rebooting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwill View Post
"C'mon, they're just plants, man, no big deal -- try some"
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-02-2010, 08:23 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower