Advice on 20 gal community - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-09-2013, 02:48 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Advice on 20 gal community

I've done enough research to be pretty certain this stocking will be ok, but I'm new to this so I'm nervous and I really wanted to get a direct answer from you guys because of your experience!

The tank will be heavily planted/filtered/water tested etc etc before adding any fish. I've listed what I want to add in the order I plan to add them. This is because I know Otos are very fragile and I want to make sure the tank is as stable as possible before adding them, and Bettas can be territorial so I want him to get the message he's in a community tank right off the bat.

20 gallon:
3ish mystery snails
3 or 4ish shrimp (ghost? red cherry?)
6ish white clouds
3 otos
1 male betta

The betta is the only fish I currently have, he is happy alone in his little 3 gal but keeps bugging me about an upgrade . If I were to take anything out of this plan it would be the white clouds...I don't want them to annoy my betta and I don't know if this set up simply contains too many fish with the little school of them.

Before you comment, yes, I know about the 1in/1gal rule as a super basic guideline. Also I know things depend a lot of personality of fish (esp the betta). Just let me know what you think, and especially if you have any experience with this mix! Thank you so much!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-09-2013, 02:55 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Oh I should mention it's a 20 gal long. Sub-question: I know White Clouds like a bit cooler temperatures....has anyone experienced this posing a serious problem when housing them with bettas? If yes, suggestions for other tiny tiny schooling fish? I don't know how I feel about Tetras....
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-09-2013, 03:49 PM
Planted Tank Obsessed