The Planted Tank Forum banner

natural rocks?? good or bad

736 views 8 replies 6 participants last post by  vanderduncanwall 
#1 ·
do natural river rocks really make a big diffrence ?

Sent from my LGL16C using Tapatalk

#5 · (Edited by Moderator)
I have all different shapes and sizes. I was just asking because I've had some problems with my Molly's two of my females keep sitting at the bottom of the tank when swimming in place they seem to be shemmie, and there tail is curved to the side. and the one thing I don't have a way to check is ph.

[emoji17] this is my first time having a tank.

#6 ·
If anything, a rock is going to raise pH, which will be fine for mollies. Something else is going on. If you don't have a pH test, I'm assuming you have no other tests, which will make remote diagnosis difficult.

How big is the tank?
How long has it been set up?
What kind of filter?
How did you cycle it?
What other fish are in it?
What's your water change schedule?

Also, although I never kept them, I understand mollies do much better in a slightly saline environment. Do you have any salt in the tank? Of course, if you have other fish that don't tolerate salt, you'll just do the same to them.

And get yourself some test kits if you're a beginner in the hobby.

#7 ·
Several things will change the answer as to how rocks may effect the water.
One big one that is often missed is that water is not the same all over the world. And then rocks are also not the same.
If you take and alkaline rock like limestone and put it in water that runs in limestone most of the time, you get no change in PH/GH/KH as all that has been done by nature. Put the same rock in soft acidic water and you can expect a much larger change.