The Planted Tank Forum banner

MTS vs Aquasoil

5K views 33 replies 13 participants last post by  summerboy1958 
#1 ·
Hi, I was wondering how MTS and Aquasoil compare, both in a planted tank, and in an emersed set-up. I honestly don't know much about MTS as I have never used it before, but I am very interested. What are the differences between the two? What are the pros and cons of each? What's your opinion from your experience? I know money is a factor for both, but that's not really what I'm asking about. Any input is much appreciated, thanks! :smile:

#2 ·
MTS vs. Aquasoil

The only PRO of Aquasoil I'll comment on is you can ode red it online from a dozen or so site and have it on your door step in a few days.

I have never used it so I'll stop there.

MTS - THAT I know about. :icon_mrgr

To the #1 reason to use it, in Nature plants grow in dirt.

You can "build" to suit your specific needs, it will last for years. You don't need to put any type of Root Caps in it. Just plant and enjoy. Natural dirt will have enzymes, micro nutrients, trace elements that you are just not going to find in a bag of anything from a factory. even if you are going to buy some from a dirt 'chef' it still should her less expensive. The best way of course is to make your own. That does require space to dry it. But , if you can find the space it really is easier than log-in to the get to this site.

#3 ·
How does the MTS slurry stay at the bottom of the tank? I would think that the slurry consistency of the MTS would get stirred all over the tank because of the water current. If I cap the MTS with AquaSoil, would it remain at the bottom of the tank? I know I have to be careful not to disturb it when doing water changes. Does it easily get blown around or does it settle down easily?

#5 ·
Many of us use a 1-1.5" Sand Cap over 2-2.5" of MTS.