The Planted Tank Forum banner

My 55 Gallon. Still a noob after 4 years.

1K views 13 replies 10 participants last post by  GMYukonon24s 
#1 ·
Hey guys, my name is Nick. Like the title states Im still a noob after having this tank for 4, going on 5 years. This was my first aquarium, but since setting this up my attention has been mostly directed towards reef keeping. Im pretty sick of it looking like garbage so its time to turn this tank around!

This is what it is looking like now.

Resident female angelfish.

Driftwood with java fern growth.

I have been having some algae issues in this tank so I have stopped my dosing for now. I was using the PPS pro method of dosing. My photoperiod was also too long. And I was using all 4 bulbs of my 4 bulb t5 unit. :redface: Oops... Noob mistake! I am injecting CO2 24/7 at the the rate of about a 1.5-2 bubbles per second. I am using 0 TDS RO-DI water to do 20 gallon water changes weekly. That is all I can think of for now, but any input to better this tank is much appreciated.

See less See more
#2 ·
It definitely doesn't look like garbage. Maybe a few extra wires distracting the viewers - like the air stone probably isn't beneficial when you're injecting c02 as it'll just help get rid of the c02. The fish are probably fine without the airstone (and if they aren't okay, then you're injecting too much c02!)

I'd say your tank could use some prettier reds in there. The few that are in there make it look nice but adding some more will make it even nicer if that's the direction you want to go. Also combining plants so it's not all separated where each section is one type of plant may look more natural.

#7 ·
Hah. Fishing for compliments, perhaps? (I'm so punny.)

Nevertheless, it does look pretty good. You've got some good growth in there. It's not sparse, which is the only thing that I ever think makes a tank look "bad". (*glance at my own tank* eheheh. oops.)