The Planted Tank Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

First Attempt - Planted Nano Tank

75K views 93 replies 27 participants last post by  somewhatshocked 
#1 ·
Hi fish tank people! I have a betta fish currently living in a small bowl and wanted to do something nice for him. This is my first attempt at planting an aquarium so I hope it works out.

It's an 8 gal planted Fluval Flora with - Anubias / Crypt / Micro Sword / Java Fern / Wysteria / random betta bulb

The wysteria should fill in the back / grow taller. My main concern is aeration in the front.

I hope the thin layer of sand allows enough gas exchange with the substrate.

Hardscape: (Found / boiled - driftwood / rocks) Fluval substrate / AQ sand

The Rest:

Minnows for the Cycle:

See less See more
#64 · (Edited)
I currently use two of the stock 13W CFLs. I lucked out and wound up with two, which landed me in the WPG range I was looking for.

Up until this past week I've been injecting CO2 using a solenoid / regulated 5LB Co2 canister. (ran out - refilling soon) It turns on one hour before the lights come on and turns off one hour after they've turned off.

The lighting schedule is a 4x8x4
5AM-9AM on
5pM-9PM on

I fertilize the roots with worm castings and fertilize the water column with a macro/micro very lightly. The tank is heavily stocked with bottom feeders and heavy feeding of a varied diet provides most of the remaining nutrients. Nerites (4) and an otto (1) have done an excellent job of keeping the glass clear.

Thanks,
Rob

#67 ·
Wasn't sure what else to do, buggers had grown 9 inches tall and were shading everything around. Tried pulling out a clump, but the roots are set deep. Any clipped leaf will surely die back, but at least I'll be able to see the rest of the aquarium. lol.

#68 ·
lol! I find the best way is to trim off the larger leaves :).