DIY Aquarium + Filter System - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-16-2013, 06:32 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Lightbulb DIY Aquarium + Filter System

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the entire aquarium fish keeping experience and after alot of reading around on forums and watching youtube video's i've decided to start my own aquarium DIY project.
PS: English is not my first language so excuse me for any errors in my grammar.. thanks

I personally feel alot more satisfied if i create something myself from the ground up than to buy something (which is usually overpriced) already made, from the store.

I bought myself a completely made from glass, table.. which looks like this (for 60$)

Click image for larger version

Name:	chiesa-1.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	69.9 KB
ID:	159905Click image for larger version

Name:	chiesa-2.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	74.7 KB
ID:	159913Click image for larger version

Name:	chiesa-5.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	45.5 KB
ID:	159921

It's hardened glass and has the right thickness for the amount of water that's going to be going in.

I like the curves of the table and i'm going to be turning it on it's side so it serves as the front and sides of the tank.

For the back and bottom of the tank i'm going to be using some kind of wood and paint it black with liquid pond paint (don't know it's exact name)
I've made some sketches so you have an idea of what i'm trying to do.

Name:	Frontside.JPG
Views:	140
Size:	163.3 KB
ID:	159929Click image for larger version

Name:	Backside.JPG
Views:	164
Size:	151.6 KB
ID:	159937

The tank is going to be sitting on the ground and i'm planning to place the filtration on top of the aquarium, i want the water to be drained up through simple PVC piping attached to an inline waterpump that is sitting above the water level.. The filter itself is going to be a simple trickle system made from a rubbermaid storage drawer (something like this)

Name:  storage drawer.JPG
Views: 4020