The Planted Tank Forum banner

My ADA Style Cabinet with Plexiglass Door

14K views 97 replies 26 participants last post by  Uptown193 
#1 · (Edited)
I built my first stand over the weekend and here is how it came out. I used HD 1/2" hardwood Sandeply. I made a 1x3" frame and used 1x4" as the brace/legs which was notched 3/4" for the frame. I used MinWax Wood Conditioner and MinWax New Satin Black PolyShades. I used 000 Steel Wool to sand the stain. I also am using a 1/4" plexiglass as a door with basic hinges until I can find something better and I used a magnetic pop-latch. The reason I made a plexiglass door is so that I can see my new G3 Filter and my CO2 tank that I paid a lot of money for so why hide it. I am also thinking about using an LED color changing light to create some type of mood for inside the cabinet. This is my first build so be easy on me. I followed many threads in this website and learn a lot. I highly recommend everyone to build their own stand. It give you great satisfaction during and after the build. Everyone should try it if you are capable, at least try. Here are some pics. I am not going to describe in detail so if you have any questions feel free to ask.

See less See more
#2 ·
Completed the door. Thinking about making a 2" black boarder around the glass to hide the hinges and latch. What do you think?

#3 ·
Picture of the tools I used and that you need to assist in your build. Notice the tool box full of tools as well, lol.....

#5 ·
Thank you. I going all out on this one, well as much as my wallet can afford, lol.

Oh yea you think thats a good idea, cool. I was also thinking about just removing the hinges and just add another magnetic pop-latch on the upper right side so I can just remove the whole door rather then having to open it. What you think about that?

I just made a thread for the build called The Build - ADA 60P Style -Custom 35" stand. Make sure you use that one because I accidently made two thread.

#9 ·