The Planted Tank Forum - View Single Post - 40g Breeder HI-Tech Firt attempt'ish - 56k beware Pic heavy
View Single Post
post #1 of (permalink) Old 10-22-2011, 03:57 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
40g Breeder HI-Tech Firt attempt'ish - 56k beware Pic heavy

Hey everyone I figured I would start a build log for my tank since I've never done one before so here we go.

Quick history I spent quite a few years doing the salt water reef bit and when I made my move to Las Vegas I had to tear it down and have been basically tank less for like 4 years. Reef Tank pic's for those of you that are interested. Ive had a little 12g nano cube with some shrimp and plants but nothing special. But now its on to the fun stuff.

So like the title says I am doing a 40 gallon Breeder sized tank 36"Lx18"Wx16"H. This really is an awesome size for a tank, simply because you have a lot of options as far as scape goes. I Got the tank from A big box store during one of the 1$ per gallon sales at the end of September. It took me some time but I found an awesome local guy from the vegas reef club that was willing to build me a custom stand for this bad boy. It took about 3 weeks to get everything finished and get it home but it was worth the wait, no questions asked. I did want some fairly specific things after dealing with my 135g reef tank. I wanted a canopy that would fold in half back onto itself, I wanted the tank stand to sit flush with the wall and I wanted 1 large door into the stand. Another thing I wanted was a tall stand, the stand is 37 1/2" tall including trim to cover the tanks black trim. I really wanted the tanks trim to be hidden by the stand and canopy also Greg(my build guy) was able to mount a switched power center underneath the stand so I don't have a power strip sitting in there that has the wire Medusa coming out of it. Now the best part is always the pictures in these kinds of threads so I wont keep you waiting.