The Planted Tank Forum - View Single Post - 6.6 gallon bookshelf nano ( First ever attempted aquascape!! Advice needed!!!!! 56k)
View Single Post
post #1 of (permalink) Old 08-25-2011, 05:36 AM Thread Starter
Wannabe Guru
PTrader: (3/100%)
6.6 gallon bookshelf nano ( First ever attempted aquascape!! Advice needed!!!!! 56k)

Recently Re-Scaped"

And its actually on a bookshelf!!!

This is my first attempt an an aquascape. I've kept plants before, but never beyond sticking them into the gravel and hoping they lived. This is by no means complete. In fact I just started aquascaping it this week.
I have all my background plants planted and figured out. Now I'm still playing around with rocks, and trying to figure out my foreground and mid ground plants. I'm thinking water shamrock for the foreground.

Tank - Petco 6.6 Gallon Bookshelf Aquarium (24"Lx8.13"Wx9.25"H)
Substrate - CaribSea Tahitian Moonlight Sand
Lighting - Single T8 Bulb (came with the tank), Upgrading to dual T5NO strip, 6700k.
Filter - Aquaclear 20
Heating - None (will be getting one once summer is over)
CO2 - None (DIY yeast setup soon, Building DIY Paintball)
Fertz - None (will be dosing Flourish, and Flourish Iron)
Hardscape - Local rocks
Flora - Red Ludwigia, Parrots Feather, Rotala Indica, Greater Duckweed, and Water Wisteria (this is for coverage and to absorb nutrients, will be replaced)
Fauna - 2 male fancy guppies, 1 baby guppy, 5 leopard cories, 1 zebra nerite, 1 oto (will be getting him at lest one friend when my LFS get them in), and 4 blue pearl shrimp.