The Planted Tank Forum banner

New Camera!

3K views 25 replies 5 participants last post by  shinycard255 
#1 ·
So I ordered a new camera today and need to tell someone...

I've been using a Canon 30D ever since the summer 2006 and the 8.2MP just doesn't cut it for me anymore. I needed a camera with a bigger sensor and one that could produce bigger image files.

So... I took the plunge today and purchased a Canon 5D Mark II. Should come in on Thursday! :bounce::bounce::bounce:

If you can't tell... I'm a little excited. First time having a full frame DSLR of my own (I use one regularly at the studio I work for).

#5 ·
How large are you printing your photos that 8 mp isn't working? I've done 16 x 20 with 6 mp and they're sharp. You can't get that with 8?

#6 ·
Why bother upsizing from 8MP when I can almost shoot at 16"x20" SOOC? Yeah, it is possible to upsize and make it look OK from a distance until you get close and see that it's soft. Plus, I do freelance once and a while and clients do want the outcome of the photo to be 3'x4' (if not larger) if shooting a store sign or banner.

Plus, I want to experiment with video so this camera is well worth it to me.

#9 ·
Shinycard, you're talking to a guy that looks at stuff with a loupe. Can't help it. It's my job. I know exactly what you're talking about. But there are correct viewing distances for all sizes. You never see a billboard at 3' If you did you'd see that the print is pretty low res.
I paid damn good money for a soft lens for one job.

You print SOOC? You let the camera make color decisions for you?

#11 ·
Guess I do. Don't really know your shooting habits at all. I shoot Raw+. Even on my "snapshots" (a technique I've had to relearn yet still have trouble with)