The Planted Tank Forum banner

Excuse me I have a question...

3K views 41 replies 24 participants last post by  Tex Gal 
#1 ·
Ok, I know its said that there is no such thing as a stupid question but I beg to differ...
I worked in retail for years...I worked in 3 aquarium stores and managed one of them...I also worked in a hunting and fishing store going through grad school. I also worked at Campmor selling outdoor gear which is where my all time most moronic question came from.
I sold canoes, kayaks, tents and sleeping bags. One day shortly after September 11 while working tents I was asked if any of the tents we sold would withstand a chemical/biological attack? This guy was totally serious too...I didn't even know where to begin, I couldn't help cracking up as I explained to this guy that there was no way in hell that any tent would do that. I turns out that instead of ducktaping his windows with plastic he was going to pitch a tent in his living room...to this day I still laugh.
Soooooo....
what is the most stupid question you have ever been asked?

#3 ·
I worked a lot of retail in my day, LFS in high school, Gander Mtn. in college, and I a managed a fly fishing store for a few years. I wish I could remember all of the stupid questions. But two of the best were:
A guy came in looking at our fishing vests, he asked "are these flame retardant?" I asked why? He said "I am a smoker and I dont want my clothes to catch on fire"

For you fly fishermen out there this one ranks up there,
Guy came in, going on a bonefish trip in the bahamas, wanted a fly reel but didnt want to spend the dough on a good one. He pointed to a click and pawl fly reel designed for trout and bluegill (no drag) and asked "Can i use this for bonefish?" my employee said deadpan "if you buy running shoes" the guy replied "what kind should i get?"....

#4 ·