The Planted Tank Forum banner

Since when do fluorescents blow up?

2K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  kozlany 
#1 · (Edited)
I was minding my own business when my POS Coralife fixture made a sound like a dying goose swallowing a firecracker. (Yeah, yeah, it came with the used tank.) Once it's apart, I find the 6700k tube blown apart, the last third of it splintered and smoked black. The bottom of the broken piece melted to the acrylic cover.

Can I assume this is a fixture quality issue? A freak bulb QC problem? Crop circles?

The fixture won't light when a new bulb is inserted. I'm hoping the fixture is salvageable since my budget is less than nothing...but I'm no electrical engineer. The ballast is friggin' elfin and I can't find any hint of a fuse.

Any suggestions for an unemployed liberal arts major, besides "go buy something that doesn't suck"?

#2 ·
Is it possible that cold water splashed the hot tube, causing it to crack? If one of those cracks it will implode because they have a hard vacuum in them. I doubt that the fixture and ballast were harmed, so you should be able to just replace the bulb. Home Depot T5NO bulbs should work, and they are cheap, or at least cheaper than aquarium hobby bulbs.

#3 ·
I agree with Hoppy; the most likely culprit for sudden tube implosion is when cold water splashes on the hot tube.

Also as Hoppy mentioned, your hardware store should be the first place you look for a suitable replacement bulb.

#7 ·