The Planted Tank Forum banner

First attempt at a ada aquascape, what do you guys think

3K views 21 replies 13 participants last post by  Thorinale 
#1 ·
I know it is nothing special, but I really like how it looks. This is my first attempt at an ada style aquascape, nothing special just something I wanted to try. Would love to hear what you guys think

Tank
5.5 gallon 16"x 8" x 10"

Equipment
18"-24" marineland strip light
Aquaclear20
Tetra HT10 submersible heater

Substrate
Lapis lustre blasting sand

Hardscape
ADA yamaya stone
ADA spiderwood

Flora
Anubias nana
Java Fern

Fauna
Male betta splendens

Attachments

See less See more
#5 · (Edited)
This is more tips/critiques on betta keeping than on the scape-imo lovely scape but not necessarily the best for bettas.

Bettas prefer more shade/a better way to hide from the light, they can't close/squint their eyes to get away from the 'sun' (light) so the use of floating plants or a more densely planted tanks with more shaded hiding spots would be better for the betta.

Did you sand the driftwood before adding it? if not you may need to as beta fins are very delicate and any tiny snags against the wood will result in ripped fins.

You're likely to see a lot of glass surfing (beta chasing its reflection-thinking its an invading male betta) with that layout, unless you're fortunately enough to have a non aggressive/defensive betta. If you do see a lot of glass surfing consider planting around the side and back walls of the tank so he can't see himself or making DIY inserts with acrylic sheets spray painted with krylon fusion (aquarium safe) pushed against the glass to remove the reflections. I did the inserts for my most aggressive male, fixed his glass surfing instantly. If you want more info on this I'll copy-paste over my DIY post on it.