The Planted Tank Forum banner

Suggestions for Aggressive slopes

18K views 36 replies 23 participants last post by  mistergreen 
#1 ·
In my next tank i would like to create dramatic slopes since i will be working with a large footprint (48x18x24). I am curios to know if anyone has as experience creating such as aquascape or has any links to where this has been done. I am working on a few ideas that i will explain if there is any interest in this thread.

Thanks much.

#4 ·
I believe that some substrates are better at holding slopes than others. I read in a thread that ADA aquasoil holds slopes very well, but I have no experience with that substrate myself.

Like gmccreedy said, best bet is to support the slope with rockwork. Any plexiglass or other barriers will lead to a "tiered" effect, unless you reslope it when needed. I would also be wary of anaerobic pockets in very deep slopes.

#7 ·
Anerobic pockets, huge piles of filler material, and empty open spaces are all things im trying to avoid. Aquasoil does hold a slope very well. Ive been able to create some decent slopes by pouring into the tank slowly while misting with a water bottle. Over time however the water does win and everything settles. Ive have thought to attempt to grow the plants emmersed on the slopes then fill with water once a nice root structure is in place to hold the dirt. This method floated around for awhile using HC but i rarely read any positive outcomes.

Ive also though to create a sort of molded shell using stainless steel screen like that you see flame moss growing on. The idea is basically to have two layers about 1.5 inches apart to sandwich in some substrate. Thing is is that stuff is expensive and hard to shape without a mold.