Improving a poorly planned tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-17-2017, 08:13 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Improving a poorly planned tank

Maybe aquascaping is too positive a term for what I wanna do here, I'm fully aware of how terrible it looks as is. I put this tank together on a bit of an impulse, recycling plants and substrate from my other tanks to have something to let my endlers and shrimp multiply in. I've never tried my hand at aquascaping before, but I was wondering what ideas you guys would have as to ways I could improve it at least a little without having to dismantle everything.

I definitely want to make better use of the vertical water column, so I was thinking maybe something along the lines of manzanita wood and some taller plants along the back, though I have no idea what kinds would look best. Also fyi, I'm not at all attached to the fake blue rock, in fact I wanna get rid of it. I only have it right now for functionality of giving the shrimp more places to hide, though I do like the idea of bright coloring.

I know the plants are a mess right now, I plan on cleaning them up this week but I figured planning first wouldn't hurt. I'm open to suggestions of removing plants too.

As for what's in it right now:
35g hexagon
The substrate is primarily random gravel (don't worry, it's clean) mixed with a bit of fluval plant & shrimp stratum, as well as a tiny bit of sand.
Plants include anubias, amazon sword, marimo moss balls, and java moss.
I have a diy co2 diffuser, though I haven't got it working quite right yet. I'm currently saving for a real setup.
Lighting is less than ideal at the moment (15w t5 alongside a fluval aura), though that's gonna be my next purchase.
40g sponge filter.
Inhabitants are endlers and cherry shrimp.

tl;dr How would you improve this terrible tank?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 05-17-2017, 04:08 PM
Algae Grower

Quote: