The Planted Tank Forum banner

20 Long - First Planted Tank

3K views 19 replies 6 participants last post by  blake6511 
#1 ·
Lighting: Finnex Stingray
Filter: AquaClear 30
Heater: Eheim Jager 100 watt
Substrate: Miracle Grow Organic Choice Potting mix (~1 inch) with black diamond blasting sand (20/40) cap (~1 inch).

This is my first attempt at a planted tank. Going with the low tech approach. Will be adding low light plants that are suitable for a beginner.

My wife does not like the look of most fish stands so we found this piece of furniture to use. We both sat on it (around 285 pounds combined) and it seemed solid. I placed the tank on it, filled with water and left for 3 days to make sure there were no leaks.

Adding the potting mix (rinsed first to try and remove wood particles and anything that floats) to the tank. The rinsed black diamond sand was added around the edges first to keep from seeing two separate layers of substrate.

Thought the tank may have algae issues being by the window so added a black background to help with this. Also added the black diamond sand cap.

The heater and filter are in the mail and I order a piece of manzanita driftwood. Once everything is put together, I plan on ordering the plants. I would like to keep it to just a few types. I would like to add some water sprite, java ferns, java moss, and something red like ludwigia. Open to suggestions on some other background plants and something for carpeting. Have not decided on fish at the moment but would like to add some snails and shrimp to help with any algae issues once the tank is cycled.

See less See more
#2 ·