The Planted Tank Forum banner

Getting my feet wet. My first ever aquarium!

4K views 24 replies 9 participants last post by  VelcroWY 
#1 · (Edited)
So, I live in Singapore, the city-state which is the world's largest exporter of ornamental fish. We have over 100 LFSs (and numerous fish farms) on our tiny island-country of approximately 700km2. However, I have never owned an aquarium before. But that's going change.

I have been reading up on fish-keeping on-and-off over the past couple of years, acquiring a wealth of knowledge on aquariums and planted tanks. But as a poor college student, I did not have the financial resources to start my own planted tank. Now that I have graduated and have a stable income, I finally decided to start my own aquarium.

I was about the bite the bullet and plonk down S$450 for a brand new 2ft*1.5ft*1.5ft (33.7gUS) high-clarity glass tank plus cabinet, when I saw an online posting offering to sell off a 2nd hand 3ft*1.5ft*2ft (67.3gUS) tank plus cabinet for S$300. I immediately contacted the seller and reserved the tank set.

And here it is!

67.3gUS tank with 12mm glass on all sides, high-clarity glass for the front panel. Comes with a silicone-sealed external overflow box and full set of pipes, and a 3D background.

ADA-style cabinet

Came with a sump included.

I also bought a fully functioning BEAMSWORK 3ft LED light from the same guy for S$60. He told me that it should be sufficient for plants requiring low- to mid- lighting, but not for plants requiring high intensity lighting. Works for me for my first planted tank!

See less See more
#8 ·
Thanks for the kind words! I definitely got a great deal. A brand new tank and cabinet of that size locally would have cost at around S$800. The 3ft BEAMSWORK LED light another S$100. I got everything for just S$360, and got a spare sump tank too!