First (and second) planted tanks - The Planted Tank Forum
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-05-2015, 06:40 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
First (and second) planted tanks

Hello TPT community! Firstly, thanks everyone for sharing their knowledge and experience on this forum. It's been a main source of information as I've begun to learn about keeping freshwater plants and fish.

to I'm new to the hobby, and have certainly been bitten hard by the bug. A few months a go my girlfriend got a 5 gallon betta tank, and I really enjoyed watching the little guy swim around. I did a google image search for "cool fish tanks" and was completely blown away by the amazing miniature landscapes that I saw. I dove into a ton of research, and a few weeks later purchased our first planted tank:

8-Weeks since planted

29-Gallon (courtesy of the Petco $1 per gallon sale)
Particle-board stand from Petco
Approx 14L ADA Aquasoil Amazonia
Approx 1.5L ADA Aquasoil Amazonia Powder (where the HC is planted)
Eheim Ecco Pro 80 Canister Filter
30" Finnex 24/7 Planted + LED (Love the 24/7 Mode)
200W Heater
GLA Atomic V3 System w/ 5lb CO2 Cylinder and Atomic Diffusor
Ferts: PPS-Pro via GLA

HC: 4 pots @ 8 weeks old, 4 pots @ 1 week old
Christmas Moss: x2 pieces
Repens: x8 bunches
Not sure what the bkg stem plants are (2 varieties) x 6 bunches

5x Cardinal Tetra
7x Oto
8x Amano Shrimp
10x Cherry Red Shrimp
4x Crystal Red Shrimp
2x Crystal Black Shrimp

The background is a piece of diffusion paper (used for modifying light on film sets) taped to the back glass of the aquarium. There's an RGBW LED strip on the stand behind the tank to give the blue gradient effect, which also slightly backlights the fish/plants. It can be changed via remote to any color.