Sorta newb 29G Build Thread - The Planted Tank Forum
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-23-2009, 02:16 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
PTrader: (0/0%)
Sorta newb 29G Build Thread

Hi everyone. Let me start by saying thank you to those of you who have already helped me along getting started.

The sorta newb part comes from some experience I already have but from years ago with a planted tank. Back then I had a 45g tall and used to make my own CO2 plus a 10g nano that was totally low tech but really looked nice with some harlequins and lotus plants.

Other then that I have been keeping reef tanks for the last 7 or 8 years now which can actually get in the way of thinking about how to set up a planted tank believe it or not!

ok, I guess if you're still reading then it's time to get on with it! And of course post some pics!

A friend of mine had heard me complaining about how I hated the little acrylic Eclipse6 I had. Between the scratches and the less then clear view if I found it frustrating. SO he had a 29G tank in his garage that had been used as a sump at one time and he brought it over and dumped it and a wet/dry on the floor and said have fun. Hmmm....

My brother helped me to build a stand and canopy for my 125G so I felt confident enough that I could handle this one.

First things first, I needed coffee, plans and some tools!

Cut the wood, drill, screw and hammer...viola! A stand frame!

and it's square!

Whew! That was a long afternoon! After thinking about where it was going to go and how I would be setting up the wet/dry I decided I wanted to make the stand a little deeper. So I took apart the sides and added some depth to them and also put in another 2x4 horizontally so that the tank weight would be supported entirely. This would also give me room in the back of the tank for electrical wires, tubing and whatever else needed to go from underneath up to the tank without having to have it exposed.