Been 6 Years, Coming Back to Freshwater - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-28-2015, 03:52 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Been 6 Years, Coming Back to Freshwater

As the title says, I've been away from freshwater for 6 years and it seems like you guys have been busy. I'm starting up a new tank and want to try my hand at some basic aquascaping. Bare with me, I'm no artist. I know threads are usually more exciting when there's a complete story from start to finish, but for now I must disappoint. At least you guys can keep up with it this way though. Comments are welcome of course.

Quick Specs

30g tank
Eco complete substrate
SunSun canister filter
Hydor inline heater (took a gamble here, but I feel like it's working well)
Lighting to be provided by planted+ 24/7 once it's shipped.

So admittedly I'm no artist, I've got no eye for design. Some may cringe at my attempt. Opinions are welcome, as long as we all understand they're just an opinion. Anyway, pictures!

A little cloudy after first setup, I spent a day hiking through the woods to find that rock. I really liked it's geometric shapes, but am on the verge of saying it's too darn big. The very tip of it pokes above the water, though no more than 1/4" when the tank is full.

After staring at it for a few days, I felt that proportionally the driftwood I had in there just didn't give any sense of scale, so I changed the wood and the layout.

Think that's a little better. At this point my thoughts are the cliche "moss trees", and a thick carpet of dwarf baby tears or similar small carpeting plant. I'm looking through other plants for a bit of diversity, but trying to keep in mind the effect of proportion. My goal is to keep a sense of height to the layout.