The Journal of a Complete Beginner! [50 gallons - Now with WATER!] - The Planted Tank Forum
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 105 (permalink) Old 01-06-2009, 03:24 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
PTrader: (0/0%)
The Journal of a Complete Beginner! [50 gallons - Now with WATER!]

Hello all!

My name is Gary Hudston and I am not new to fishkeeping by any means. I used to breed fancy guppies and, more recently, bettas (which I intend to return to eventually) and have kept several community aquariums and one pair of oscars in the past.

However, I have never kept a planted aquarium beyond sticking in a few live plants and hoping for the best (then experiencing the worst ).

So once again, I find myself a complete and utter beginner in yet another facet of the hobby which I find myself strangely enthralled with.

Having found myself living in a new, aquarium-less house I figure it's time to get stuck in. I have, sitting right next to me on a (very sturdy, reinforced) desk a brand spanking new Aqua One Evo 100 with 2x39w T5 lights in the hood, which I bought from Chiltern Aquatics for a very reasonable Ģ170!

And... that's about it I'm afraid. It's sitting there, completely empty apart from the filter tubes and heater, which I put in for no reason other than to ease my impatience. I have several bags of Flourite Black Sand and one bag of regular Flourite Black (they didn't have enough of the sand) on order, should be arriving in the next couple of days. Going shopping for some rocks/wood in the next few days aswell; after all that arrives then I'll take some pictures for you all.