Goldfish Planted Tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2009, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Goldfish Planted Tank

Hi there,

Im still a novice at this planted tanks, as I have goldfish's. They are testing to be quite problematic. I've had the goldfish for the last 2 years now but noo, the lionhead's wen still doesn't want to grow!

Started getting into planting live plants about half year ago. Have had many goes with trying to put up a decent scape but non so far. This is as far as i got.

My oranda has been chewing on many different plants and had to discard, and replant and rescape. They even had a go at my java ferns although they got sick of it after a few days. But a few leaves had been eaten haha.. oh well it was still fun to watch them eat it.

Tank at the moment is about 15-20gal on a 2.5wpg lighting. Its has two filtering as the goldfishes are such messy eaters. An Eheim pro 2 and a UVC clarifier.

My clean up crew is me on the glass to keep it nice'n clean and 4 adult ramshorns and 1 MTS (which after 6months has not multiplied at all) to keep the plants/stones clear of algae.

There is a black pot in the tank that holds the baby javas that keep detaching and floating around. A few of them are becoming a decent size now, guess i could attach it to something. All the plants seem to be growing fast. I've only been adding flourish excel and iron plant gro.

If you have any suggestions please let me know
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2009, 08:54 PM
I ♥ BBA!

Love the goldfish! My favorite fish, although I no longer keep. I like the layout of the tank. Have you tried hornwort at all? My goldfish didn't like it and I used a small weight to keep it on the ground.

Without Algae, death of mankind would be inevitable.
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 01-04-2009, 10:01 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower