klibs' 75 Gallon High Tech Dirt Setup - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-09-2014, 01:53 AM Thread Starter
Planted Tank Guru

klibs' 75 Gallon High Tech Dirt Setup

NEW JOURNAL:
http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh....php?p=7946226

This setup lost to BBA so I took an opportunity to redo the entire thing.

***I will be updating this first post with my progress / all the pictures***

Most Recent Pic:
10/1/2014

This is my first attempt at a real planted tank. I have a low tech 29 gallon that is doing very well but I am looking to go all out with a high tech setup in a big ol 75 gallon and see if I can make something gorgeous. I am hoping that this is not too much for me to handle but I'm trying my best to be smart about it.

Learning from all of my research has made me GREATLY appreciate those of you who took time to keep detailed journals on how you accomplished great tanks so I will try to do the same. If this journal one day helps someone model a great looking tank I will be happy.

Hardware:
  • 75 Gallon tank
  • Apex Controller (with pH / temp probes)
  • 2 x Eheim 2217 canisters
  • 5 lb CO2 tank (controlled by Apex)
  • 24" Cerges reactor inline with one of the 2217 cans
  • Catalina 3 x 54w T5HO light fuxture
  • 2 x Build My LED Dutch XB
  • 1" MGOCPM / RedArt clay capped with old EcoComplete
Flora:
  • Hemianthus Callitrichoides Cuba (HC / Dwarf Baby Tears)
  • Dwarf Hair Grass Sp. Belem (DHG Belem)
  • Rotala Rotundifolia / Vietnam
  • Anubias Nana Petite
  • Crypt Wendtii Red
  • Ludwigia Red / Repens
  • Eichornia Diversifolia
  • Christmas Moss
  • Alternanthera Reineckii (Rosaefolia)
Fauna:
  • 17-ish rummynose tetras
  • 1 black skirt tetra that I'm too lazy to get out of there (he's fast)
Tank Prep / Dirt:
  • Bought like 4 bags of MGOCPM (MiracleGro Organic Choice Potting Mix)
  • Bought a few pounds of RedArt pottery clay (has like 7% iron) from some random pottery lady by where I work