The Planted Tank Forum banner

55G Journal (First attempt at an AquaScape)

5K views 35 replies 8 participants last post by  discoveringmypath 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello All,

So this is going to be my journal for my 55G. I have had this tank for 3 years, never really had any real plants in it until now. I'm fairly new to planted tanks. I have a 10G that I have been practicing on and now I want to start putting plants into my 55G.

Here is my setup:

Substrate: Organic potting soil (2 1/2 inches), play sand (1 inch)

filter: HOB Aqueon QuietFlow 55/75 (400 GPH, it says for upto 90G)

Lighting: 4 23W 5000K spiral CFL's ( I also have 2 6500K 23W bulbs on my 10G, so I might swap them out)

Ferts: I have an EI package of dry ferts (NPK and CSM + B)

- I haven't started with ferts, just put plants in today. I only have a couple plants so I figure I would hold off till I get more plants in there. What do you guys think?

CO2: I have a basic paintball setup on my 10G right now. I think I'm going to hold off on the co2 for now. see how things go without it.

Current Plants: 6 stems of Hygrophila Kompakt, 1 Anubias nana.

Plants I will be adding in the near future: Micro sword, DHG, Rotala Sunset, Luwigia Rubin, Jungle Vals.

I don't have a whole lot of each one of these, so as they grow I will propagate as necessary.

Current Fish:

6 cherry Barbs
5 Tiger Barbs
4 Siamese algae eaters
3 Chinese Algae eaters
2 Black Neon Tetra's
3 Serpae Tetras

and also 5 Ghost shrimp

The dried out wood is fairly new and still floats so I have a 2by4 and a weight on top to keep the wood in place till it sinks on its own. The tank is a bit bare right now, I have big plans though. I want to get moss growing on the wood, carpet the floor with Dwarf hair grass in the front and micro swords towards the back and add in a ton of plants. Maybe some rocks, we will see.