Second try with a standard 55 Gallon - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 10-25-2013, 06:52 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

Smile Second try with a standard 55 Gallon

Hello Everyone! Sorry this may be a long post. I'm hoping to get some advice?

I have owned fish only tanks for a long time, and even helped my mom keep a salt water fish only tank for several years. I didn't get into the planted tank idea until my sister-in law gave me a dozen platys, a dozen cherry shrimp and water wisteria, so I am very new to the planted tank world.

At the time I had a 10 gallon tank set up with gravel and a double halfmoon Betta, so I added florite to the substrate for the wisteria. I also bought a Chinese algae eater, and two peppered cory catfish. I had a HOB marineland filter, an included hood light with two mini compact 50/50 fluorescent bulbs. I also bought a nana anubias and some java fern (don't know the species but the tips of each leaves are lacey) from Petsmart since my sister-in law works there. All of which did extremely well for the three years i had them. My nana anubias even bloomed twice on two different occasions. My cherry shrimp have now gone from about 15 to several hundred (several of which I have sold to local pet stores).

I tossed around the idea of starting a 55 gallon that I got from my sister-in law back in March and having miracle grow and black diamond substrate, but changed my mind later.

Unfortunately my 10 gallon had an accident one night about a month ago (bottom seal on tank sprung a leak) and I was forced to upgrade to the 55.

The current setup I have for the 55 gallon is as follows:

2 included 24'plastic hoods each with a single 6500k T8 bulb on a digital timer from 6:30 am to 8:30 pm
Eheim 2217 with ceramic rings on bottom then coarse filter with filter floss, then eheim filter substrate, then two coarse pads with filter floss with included spray bar.