The Planted Tank Forum banner

Psiorian's 60F

10K views 61 replies 14 participants last post by  Brian_Cali77 
#1 · (Edited)
So, I’ve been lurking on the forums for a while, and I’ve seen my fair share of journals (maybe too many, its all I do at work). Since you guys helped me pick my tank, I decided it is only fitting to do a journal about it.

Disclaimer I’m still relatively new at this so any suggestions are welcome.

Specs:
Tank: ADA-60F
Lighting: Current Freshwater LED+
Filter: Eheim Ecco 2232, Cal Aqua X1s Inflow.
Substrate: ADA Amazonia
Hardscape: Seiryu Stones

So I’m trying out the layout now. I want to do like a white sand beach sort of scape down a valley.

I've been messing with rock placement for now. There will be white sand where there is no substrate currently (please excuse the bad pictures and the funky lighting):

Top View:

Front View:

I'm liking the right side of the scape. Close up of the Right Side

I’m not sold on the left side I have two options what is in the front view above or the picture below. Alternate Left Side 2:

Things will be easier to see without those fruit loop cardboard in the way an the sand in. Any suggestions on the initial hardscape?

I am trying to debate between HC and UG for the foreground. Do you guys think if I do one side with HC and one side with UG that would look weird? Any opinions on what I should do for the foreground?

I'm going to look for sand tomorrow and get some substrate dividers to keep the substrate out of the sand and foreground plants from mixing.

See less See more
#3 ·
You've done the sand path before? Does it require a lot of maintenance?

I bought this tank just to do a sand theme :p

Maybe if I don't use too white sand? Maybe white mixed with black to create a gray look so it wont be too bad if it mixes a little with the aquasoil.

The HC path is also a good idea. I'll have to think about this one some more.

#7 ·
Thanks. I'll move them and take some more pictures to see how that looks.