The Planted Tank Forum banner

My low cost DIY med/high tech setup! 56k warning

2K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  danstock 
#1 · (Edited)
Hello from Nova Scotia, Canada!

My name is Dan and freshwater aquariums have been my main hobby for the past 3+ years. I've gone through a lot of changes and have learned a lot. I currently have a 55g Mbuna Cichlid biotope-type tank, a low-tech/low light planted 10g fry tank (for a brood of cichlid offspring and a project for down the road once they outgrow it) and, the tank I'd like to show you today: my 33g heavily planted community tank.

About a year ago, I decided to convert to live plants from the fake plastic ones I'd been used for the previous 2 years. I would buy live plants without research, struggle to keep them alive and my tank looking good all while I studied and learned from all of my mistakes. My goal was to create an inexpensive setup using my obsessive personality to make it clean, functional and cheap without it looking trashy or being difficult to maintain. Over the past 12 months I have tried many setups and slowly tweaked it into what I have today. I believe I have finally accomplished my goal!

From the point of converting from my stock lighting and plastic plants to ending up with a CO2 injected, LED lit, EI fert dosed tank that seems to be growing nicely with a very reasonable maintenance schedule, I would say I have spent maybe $150-200 CAN all told. Not bad at all.

My tank is lit by five 10 watt LED flood lights that I purchased for $12.95 each (shipped) from China. Each one is set on a separate timer to come on and off at 15 minute intervals creating a basic sunrise/sunset effect (see gif image below). I know they're not the most intense lighting (and are likely the weak point of my setup), but they were inexpensive, they give a great shimmer and they seem to be growing things no problem.