My first Iwagumi with stonehenge look: 20G Seaclear LowTech DHG only acrylic tank - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 08-19-2013, 01:51 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

My first Iwagumi with stonehenge look: 20G Seaclear LowTech DHG only acrylic tank

This is my first attempt at an iwagumi style setup, to keep it simple i am just going to use dwarf hair grass in a low tech setup.

Equipment: going for a clean setup with min equipments visible, the tunze filter is much bigger than expected but will have to do, as it holds the heater as well and will be the only equipment in my tank. It is german made and extremely powerful rated for up to 75 gallons at 220 gph, i turned it down to 140 gph for my 20 gallon tank and it is still too much i think, but will leave it for now.

1) 24x12x16" H Seaclear acrylic tank (rimless but with a central bracing)

2) Tunze Comline 3162 internal filter

3) 75W Eheim Jäger heater (fits inside the internal filter)

4) Current-USA Satellite Freshwater 24" LED+ fixture

5) 1 bag of Aquasoil amazonia

6) 3ml daily Excel dosing

7) Dwarf hair grass

8) Seiryu stones

DAY 1: Hoping i am doing this correctly, i cut the dwarf hairgrass down to 1 inches before planting them with a tweezer, also planted a few uncut just in case i am doing it wrong. Those dhg have buds on top of the blade which from my understanding means they were grown emersed even though i specifically ask the seller who told me they were grown submersed for a month.

The ada aquasoil is extremely mess with tiny pieces of woods floating all over the top and dirt all over the acrylic tank they seem to stick to the acrylic panels. A lot more difficult than eco complete to deal with

DAY 3: Nothing has happened, no growth nothing, i am doing 8 hour lights and 3ml daily excel dosing. Little worried the lighting might be too low but all the reviews said the current usa led+ gives off enough for dhg at 14" depth