Yervor's Fluval Spec (Lots of pictures, and words.) - The Planted Tank Forum
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-19-2013, 07:11 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
Yervor's Fluval Spec (Lots of pictures, and words.)

Hi all. I mostly lurk around here, but I thought it would be good to start some journals (for both tracking and learning purposes).

I'm pretty much a total beginner when it comes to actual experience, so any and all help is very much appreciated.

This is an old Fluval Spec that was given to me (read: I saved from being thrown away). The light and lid are missing, and there is a crack/shattering on the side, but it hasn't posed any problems yet and I've chosen not to worry about it.

4w LED desk lamp from IKEA
Stock filter (stuffed a sponge into the outflow tube, flow is almost imperceptible)
Caribsea Instant Aquarium Substrate (inert)

Bacopa caroliniana
Hygrophila difformis (wisteria)
Hemianthus micranthemoides (baby tears)

I received a shipment of plants yesterday. The company threw in several extras and I was left with more plants than I knew what to do with.

The original plan was to do something like this:

but I had so many plants and so little space that I just took out the wood (it was the smallest I could find).

After about 4-5 hours of cursing and lots of water everywhere, I am now left with this:

The baby tears were a little worse for the wear, so they are quite yellow/pale in color. Wisteria and bacopa are healthy-looking (for now).

I cannot even begin to describe how much of a hassle it was to plant this... crap. I've never done anything more difficult. The bacopa stems are curved, so, naturally, they overshadow the other plants (it's difficult to see in the pictures). I don't really know what to do, or if there is a way to straighten them.