First planted tank: A story of dirt, chagrin, and humility - The Planted Tank Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 54 (permalink) Old 06-03-2013, 11:42 PM Thread Starter
Algae Grower

First planted tank: A story of dirt, chagrin, and humility

I have been asking questions for a couple of weeks around here, and am very grateful for the answers so far received. I decided to jump in, and start a tank journal.

DISCLAIMER: This is my first try. Mistakes will doubtless be made (I've made a few already!)...Feel free to advise, but please don't be offended if I take a wrong turn.

What I got: A 37 gallon tall, with wood stand. It was given to me with a non-working Aqueon 50, some gravel, and some other junk.

What I've bought, so far:

Two 20lb bags of EcoComplete. Trying to support the LFS, since I know the kid, and he's new in business. $60. YES, I have learned my lesson.
A honking big chunk of driftwood from a garden center, that I have already cut into two pieces. $25
A bag of Scott's topsoil at Walmart $5
A Bag of play sand $4
A bag of red lava landscape rock $5
A clamp on shop light fixture $7, and a HUGE cfl bulb $8. (had NO idea how big this bulb was when I bought it...It is a temp, so I have light to work. A more decorative light plan is in the works.

A few pics:

The tank, as received, with two pieces of driftwood (testing for fit)

The driftwood piece I will be using. It was a saltwater piece...There are remains of small oysters on it. However, it was harvested over five years ago from brackish/fresh water, in the Withlacoochee River, and has been weathering outdoors in a garden center ever since. I then soaked and rinsed it in dechlorinated water for a week.

I made 'sausages' to bank the back of the tank. I took rinsed red lava rock, and packed it into old knee high nylon stockings, which I then tied off and trimmed. Next pic shows how I used them: