The trio - The Planted Tank Forum
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 03-22-2013, 06:18 AM Thread Starter
Algae Grower
The trio

Hello all,

I'm a newbie to the planted tank hobby! I love it very much. I got my tanks back in December and have soon realized I made many mistakes. but that is how you learn right? I only have one betta in two of them and a few ghost, amano, and cherry (I think) shrimp. I also have some pond snails and some nerites. I love the look of rimless tanks and since I can't afford to spend big bucks on the good stuff I decided to go with Mr aqua.

Tank: 7.5 gallon Mr. Aqua cube (12x12x12)
Filter: AquaClear 20
Heater: Aqueon 50 watt
Substrate: Eco-complete
Lighting: Up Aqua 6.69" flexible LED mount
Fertz: CO2 liquid booster, root tabs, seachem comprehensive

Flora-not too sure on the correct names so I will try my best
Ludwigia(love this one)
dwarf onion
pygmy chain sword
hygrophila corymbosa (love this one too)

So as you can see there is a huge problem with my trio tanks....THEY ALL LOOK THE SAME ........!!!!

So I will begin to change a few things in order to get some different species of plants.

First is the light. I would like to change it because I feel that my current light isn't hitting certain spots. The light I plan to get for all of the trio is the
(Any suggestion on a good light or will this be good?)

Second is substrate. I think Eco complete is ok, I know its not the best. I'd love to get some ADA but its a bit costly I think, though I will look into it. Suggestions are welcomed! I was looking into the tropica brand as well (I think thats the name)

Third is fertz. I feel that is maybe where I am lacking. I use all this cheap stuff and it is doing just ok. My pygmy chain swords are barely hanging in there. I am trying to do this without CO2 use. If I want a larger species of plants do I need to get better fertz?