The Planted Tank Forum banner

Starphire 7.5G

2K views 16 replies 6 participants last post by  Harshal1992 
#1 · (Edited)
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to planted tanks and currently living in a University dorm, so any help/advice would be much appreciated!

I currently have a 7.5G starphire tank from AI and I've equipped it with a 27 watt CFL clip-on lamp. I'm going to be getting pressurized CO2 this week, so I'm looking forward to that, especially since my HC don't seem to be very pleased with just Excel. Currently dosing Flourish Excel every day (1mL) and Flourish twice a week (1mL). I'm doing a 50%-75% WC weekly.

Fauna:
8 Cardinals (With a BEAUTIFUL red stripe =])
1 zebra danio - She won't let me catch her, so she's been fattening up eating by herself.

Flora:
Hemianthus Cuba
Anubius Nana
Ludwigia repens
Rotala Nanjenshan?
Alternanthera Rosaefolia
Hygrophila corymbosa 'Siamensis' ?
Dwarf Hair Grass - It's behind the stone, so it hasn't grown up too much to be visible from the front.

Let me know what you think! The second picture is when I first planted it, the first is a more recent one (Around 1 month difference). You'll notice the HC and Hygro definitely got wiped out quite a bit, and that's because I left one of my dorm mates to feed my tetras while I was gone.. and she flooded my tank with food.

Initially:

After my floormate flooded tank:

Btw, does anybody know how I can get rid of that sticker? It's not coming off very easily..

See less See more
#5 ·
I take it this tank is glass? Then try below methods.

Single edge razor with a little(carefully applied) rubbing alcohol should work fine for the sticker. Cap the rubbing alcohol bottle with a wash cloth and apply, then rub the cloth all over the sticker without getting any in the tank. This method takes some rubbing but don't give up.

or to loosen up the sticker first use a hair dryer on high to soften the glue, then scrape before the glue cools down.

Imi

#7 ·