The Planted Tank Forum banner

GLA 17g - My First Planted Tank

2K views 13 replies 8 participants last post by  talontsiawd 
#1 ·
Hi everyone,

This is my first tank journal of my first planted tank, which is a joint venture with my hubby. =)

So about two months ago, we decided to try our luck with planted aquarium. Never having kept a planted tank before, I know it's going to be a long journey - full of mistakes, catastrophes, but hopefully a lot of learning. However, to make things easier, we are going to keep it low-tech (I am still learning what it's all about).

Here goes:

HARDWARE
17 gallon GLA rimless tank ($120)
2 clip-on lamps (2 x 26w 6500K) ($20)
Eheim 2215 (~$100 - had from a previous tank)
Flo-Aquarium Plant Lily Pipe Tank (~$45 Ebay - had from a previous tank)
GLA Aquasoil ($30)
GLA Nature Sand ($9)
Driftwood/rocks (collected from a local lake)

FAUNA
7 flame tetras ($1.27 each)
Shrimps (planned)

FLORA
A very kind plantedtank member game me the following:
Java fern
java moss
star grass
bacopa
cabomba
rotala colorata
ludwigia repens rubin
Ludwigia repens x Ludwigia arcuata
riccia fluitans
Nesaea crassicaulis
Limnophila Aromatica
brazilian pennywort

While the last three plants on the list require high light, I will still keep it in my tank and see how they fare. Am I right in thinking that I have medium light in my tank since there's 3wpg?

DOSING:
Still confused about that. I planted everything two days ago and don't know whether or not I should use any ferts and if so what. The leaves look pale, but I have only placed my cfl lights on the tank tonight so will have to watch for improvements, or the lack thereof. Any input will be very much appreciated! =D

So here are some pictures. Sorry about the picture quality. Ruined my digital camera so cell phone camera had to suffice. =(

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·